THIS IS THE ARCHIVE VERSION OF THIS SITE
Skip navigation
The Australian National University

PhD & MPhil candidates - Pacific & Asian history

Return to Pacific & Asian history Department

Name & emailSupervisor & thesis topic
Alasia, SamProf Brij Lal, Pacific & Asian history
Sam.Alasia@anu.edu.au  Weaving waves on land: Political parties and governance in the Solomon Islands
Bichard, ValerieDr Chris Ballard, Pacific & Asian history
Valerie.Bichard@anu.edu.au  60 degrees South: A conceptual dialogue between Oceania and Antarctica
Black, PhilippaDr Chris Ballard, Pacific & Asian history
pm.black@auckland.ac.nz  New Caledonian Nickel Industry, 1873 - 1918
Cameron, LindsayDr Vicki Luker, Pacific & Asian history
Lindsay.Cameron@anu.edu.au  The Convergence of British and American Methodism in the South Pacific Conference of the Wesleyan Methodist Church
Chua, Wei BoonProf Robert Cribb, Pacific & Asian history
daniel.chua@anu.edu.au  Singapore - US relations in the 1960s and 70s
Connelly, AndrewDr Chris Ballard, Pacific & Asian history
Andrew.Connelly@anu.edu.au  Indigenous and Colonial Historicities in the Trobriand Islands
De Lisle, AndrewProf Li Narangoa, Pacific & Asian history
Andrew.DeLisle@anu.edu.au  Sub-imperialism of the Japanese government-general of Korea, 1910-1931
Di Rosa, DarioDr Chris Ballard, Pacific & Asian history
Dario.Di.Rosa@anu.edu.au  Remembering the colonial past today. History and historicities of Kerewo people (Gulf Province, PNG)
Dyt, KatieDr Tana Li, Pacific & Asian history
Katie.Dyt@anu.edu.au  Vietnamese History
Foukona, JosephDr Chris Ballard, Pacific & Asian history
Joseph.Foukona@anu.edu.au  Land reform before and after independence in Melanesia: Solomon Island, PNG and Vanuatu
Gidley, RebeccaProf Robert Cribb, Pacific & Asian history
Rebecca.Gidley@anu.edu.au  Delayed prosecutions before the Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia and Bangladesh's International Crimes Tribunal
Guoth, NicholasDr Tana Li, Pacific & Asian history
Nicholas.Guoth@anu.edu.au  Conduits and connections between Hong Kong and Australian Chinese merchants, 1860-1880
Halter, NicholasProf Brij Lal, Pacific & Asian history
Nicholas.Halter@anu.edu.au  Australian travel writing about the Pacific islands from 1880-1940
Hammer, MathiasProf Robert Cribb, Pacific & Asian history
Mathias.Hammer@anu.edu.au  Land Conflict and Political Violence in Indonesia During the 1960's
Hewett, RosalindProf Robert Cribb, Pacific & Asian history
Rosalind.Hewett@anu.edu.au  Indos (Eurasians) in Indonesia since 1949
Homerang, JennyDr Chris Ballard, Pacific & Asian history
Jenny.Homerang@anu.edu.au  The role of 'Malagan' mortuary rite ceremonies in managing customary land rights of the Nalik-speaking people of Northern New Ireland
Hurle, RobertDr Tana Li, Pacific & Asian history
Robert.Hurle@anu.edu.au  Mobilising People in the Viet bac: How did the Vietnamese leaders harness People Power to end French colonialism?
Iacobelli, PedroProf Tessa Morris-Suzuki, Pacific & Asian history
Pedro.Iacobelli@anu.edu.au  Okinawan migration to Latin America in the 1950s
Jones, MarkProf Brij Lal, Pacific & Asian history
Mark.Jones@anu.edu.au  Social and cultural change in the Indian Himalayan region of Kumaon. The 'mushrooming' of English-medium schools
Knapman, GarethProf Robert Cribb, Pacific & Asian history
Gareth.Knapman@anu.edu.au  Land and sovereignty in 19th century British Southeast Asia
Koleilat, LinaDr Thomas Du Bois, Pacific & Asian history
Lina.Koleilat@anu.edu.au  
Lamijo, Dr Tana Li, Pacific & Asian history
Lamijo.Lamijo@anu.edu.au  TBA
Leary, Danton Dr Tomoko Akami, Pacific & Asian history
Danton.Leary@anu.edu.au  Performing the Sacred Trust - A Comparative Study of Japan and Australia's Experience with the League of Nations Mandates System
Lubcke, AntjeDr Chris Ballard, Pacific & Asian history
Antje.Lubcke@anu.edu.au  The Visual Conception of New Guinea on the Eve of Settlement
McDonnell, SiobhanDr Chris Ballard, Pacific & Asian history
Siobhan.McDonnell@anu.edu.au  Maintaining a Customary Basis in Property Rights to Land: Lessons from Vanuatu
Mishra-Vakaoti, VanishaProf Brij Lal, Pacific & Asian history
Vanisha.Mishra@anu.edu.au  In and out of school: The realities of education in Fiji
Mitchell, PaulDr Chris Ballard, Pacific & Asian history
Paul.Mitchell@anu.edu.au  
Nomura, HarukaProf Li Narangoa, Pacific & Asian history
Haruka.Nomura@anu.edu.au  Reshaping the world from Shanghai
Nuttall, RuthProf Robert Cribb, Pacific & Asian history
Ruth.Nuttall@anu.edu.au  Timor-Leste: 2006 Crisis
Paik, Yon JaeProf Tessa Morris-Suzuki, Pacific & Asian history
Yon.Paik@anu.edu.au  
Park, ChrisProf Tessa Morris-Suzuki, Pacific & Asian history
Chris.Park@anu.edu.au  Korean Diasporic Social Movements: From the Long-distance Nationalism to the Transnational Identity
Park, Hea-JinProf Tessa Morris-Suzuki, Pacific & Asian history
South Korean Government-sponsored Agricultural Emigration to South America
Pawson, SimonDr Paul D'Arcy, Pacific & Asian history
Simon.Pawson@anu.edu.au  Community development and tourism in emerging economies: A case study of Banteay Chhmar, Cambodia
Puas, GonzagaDr Paul D'Arcy, Pacific & Asian history
Gonzaga.Puas@anu.edu.au  Micronesian engagement with the outside world: Control, self-preservation, identity
Racines, MisaelDr Paul D'Arcy, Pacific & Asian history
Misael.Racines@anu.edu.au  Trade, Traders and the State at the Philippine-Indonesian Border
Shahrir, RuhanProf Robert Cribb, Pacific & Asian history
Ruhan.Shahrir@anu.edu.au  From Malay Nationalism to Malaysian Nationalism: Bangsa in motion
Suva, CesarDr Paul D'Arcy, Pacific & Asian history
Cesar.Suva@anu.edu.au  Fanatics? Leonard Wood, the Tausag and American Imperialism at the Bud Dajo Massacre of 1906
Takahashi, ShinProf Tessa Morris-Suzuki, Pacific & Asian history
Shin.Takahashi@anu.edu.au  Reconsidering local autonomy in the Post-war East Asia: Arasaki Moriteru and the meaning of anti-base movements in the Post WWII Okinawa
Tian, MoProf Li Narangoa, Pacific & Asian history
Mo.Tian@anu.edu.au  Propaganda and ideology construction of Manchukuo, through the case of Manchuria Concordia Society
Ton-That, Quynh-DuProf Li Narangoa, Pacific & Asian history
Quynh-Du.Ton-That@anu.edu.au  The cultural heritage of the city of Hue, Vietnam
Vyas Pare, ShvetalDr Meera Ashar, Pacific & Asian history
Shvetal.Vyas@anu.edu.au  Becoming India: Contingent Regional and National Identities
Wuqiriletu, Prof Tessa Morris-Suzuki, Pacific & Asian history
wuqi.riletu@anu.edu.au  
Zhong, XueqingProf Li Narangoa, Pacific & Asian history
Xueqing.Zhong@anu.edu.au  Compiling a Western Yugur-English-Chinese Dictionary: Lexicography in practice and theory

Updated:  20 February 2015/Responsible Officer:  Director, Culture, History & Language /Page Contact:  CHL webmaster