THIS IS THE ARCHIVE VERSION OF THIS SITE
Skip navigation
The Australian National University

PhD & MPhil candidates - Anthropology

Return to Anthropology Department

Name & emailSupervisor & thesis topic
Assegaf, UmarDr Andrew McWilliam, Anthropology
Umar.Assegaf@anu.edu.au  TBA
Bell, MarkusDr Andrew Kipnis, Anthropology
Markus.Bell@anu.edu.au  Imagining 'Us' Above and Beyond Borders: An account of the emerging North Korea Diaspora in Northeast Asia
Casas, RogerDr Philip Taylor, Anthropology
Roger.Casas@anu.edu.au  Transforming the sacred self: Buddhist monastic discipline, morality, and the production of locality among the Tai Lue of Sipsong Panna (P.R. China)
Chen, LiangDr Andrew Kipnis, Anthropology
Liang.Chen@anu.edu.au  How do migrants adapt to city life?
Cody, SachaDr Andrew Kipnis, Anthropology
Sacha.Cody@anu.edu.au  Risk, food safety and urban agriculture in Shanghai, China
Cone, TiffanyDr Andrew Kipnis, Anthropology
Tiffany.Cone@anu.edu.au  Charismatic embodiment and the role of a Sufi order in a Chinese Muslim community
Damaledo, AndreyDr Andrew McWilliam, Anthropology
Andrey.Damaledo@anu.edu.au  The identity of the East Timorese in West Timor, Indonesia
Dillon, HarryDr Assa Doron, Anthropology
Harry.Dillon@anu.edu.au  The Media Village: Indian Media Mainstream Representations of Development Options for the Nation's Non-Urban Communities
Dobson, GraemeDr Andrew McWilliam, Anthropology
Graeme.Dobson@anu.edu.au  Pre-European Aquaculture in Northeren Australia
Dong, XuanProf Andrew Kipnis, Anthropology
Xuan.Dong@anu.edu.au  Shaolin Martial Arts Education in China
Fachruddin, FaridProf Kathryn Robinson, Anthropology
Farid.Fachruddin@anu.edu.au  Beyond authenticity in Bugis-Makassar Islam of contemporary Eastern Indonesia: An anthropology of Muslim societies
Godfrey, GaryDr Andrew McWilliam, Anthropology
Gary.Godfrey@anu.edu.au  Being Christian in Eastern Indonesia
Ha, Viet QuanDr Philip Taylor, Anthropology
VietQuan.Ha@anu.edu.au  Relations between minority and majority: The ethnic minority cadres networks in the state of Vietnam
Halim, WahyuddinProf Kathryn Robinson, Anthropology
Wahyuddin.Halim@anu.edu.au  Pesantren As'adiyah and socio-cultural transformation in South Sulawesi, Indonesia
Hanchapola Appuhamilage, UdeniProf Alan Rumsey, Anthropology
Udeni.Appuhamilage@anu.edu.au  Thinking, sensing, feeling, or just being? A cultural study on the meaning and communication
Heinzmann, LenaProf Alan Rumsey, Anthropology
Lena.Heinzmann@anu.edu.au  The construction of Muslim identity in Berlin
Herawati, ErnaProf Kathryn Robinson, Anthropology
Erna.Herawati@anu.edu.au  Warga Peduli Aids: A Community Based Organisation for HIV and Aids in Bandung, Indonesia
Hoenigman, DarjaProf Alan Rumsey, Anthropology
Darja.Hoenigman@anu.edu.au  Language variation and social identity in Kanjimei, East Sepik Province, Papua New Guinea
Howe, BrianDr Assa Doron, Anthropology
Brian.Howe@anu.edu.au  Rationalist and People's Science Movements in Kerala, South India
Hutagalung, StellaProf Kathryn Robinson, Anthropology
Stella.Hutagalung@anu.edu.au  Reproducing Islamic religious traditions in Kupang
Jiaviriyaboonya, PoonnatreeDr Philip Taylor, Anthropology
Poonnatree.Jia@anu.edu.au  
Le, Hoang Anh ThuDr Philip Taylor, Anthropology
Hoang.Anh.Thu.Le@anu.edu.au  Personhood, community and Buddhist practice among elderly lay Buddhists in Ho Chi Minh City
Le Hoang, Ngoc YenDr Philip Taylor, Anthropology
yen.le@anu.edu.au  The social and Cultural Construction of Leprosy in Vietnam
Li, GengDr Andrew Kipnis, Anthropology
Geng.Li@anu.edu.au  Popular divinatory practice in urbanizing China
Lio, AsrunProf Kathryn Robinson, Anthropology
Asrun.Lio@anu.edu.au  Identities: A case study in Routa sub district, Konawe regency, Southeast Sulawesi, Indonesia (mining project area of Rio Tinto)
McCarthy, AnnieDr Assa Doron, Anthropology
Annie.McCarthy@anu.edu.au  Investigating the telling of 'traditional' stories to contemporary Indian children
Mokui, FitrilaihlahDr Andrew McWilliam, Anthropology
Fitrilaihlah.Mokui@anu.edu.au  Community strategies to cope with health impact of mercury toxicity from Artisanal and Small Scale Mining (ASM) activities in Gorontalo Region (Sulawesi, Indonesia)
Nguyen, Thy Tan LanDr Philip Taylor, Anthropology
thy.nguyen@anu.edu.au  Code choice in Vietnamese community in Sydney
Pancaningtyas, NugraheniProf Kathryn Robinson, Anthropology
nugraheni.pancaningtyas@anu.edu.au  Electoral System, Gender Quotas and Women's Representation in Indonesia
Pidani, OmarDr Andrew McWilliam, Anthropology
omar.pidani@anu.edu.au  "Silence is no longer golden": An Ethnography of Informal 'Gold Digging' in Contested Upland of Bombana District Indonesia.
Pinthongvijayakul, VisisyaDr Philip Taylor, Anthropology
Visisya.Pinthongvijayakul@anu.edu.au  Memory, Identity, and Power: A Subnational Practice of Spirit Mediumship in Northeast Thailand
Rose, MichaelDr Andrew McWilliam, Anthropology
Michael.Rose@anu.edu.au  Magic and Modernity among the Meto: imagining a past, envisaging a future and negotiating the global in Timor Leste's Oecussi Enclave
Seo, Bo KyeongDr Philip Taylor, Anthropology
bo.seo@anu.edu.au  Politics of Care and Universal Health Coverage in Thailand
Sila, AdlinProf Kathryn Robinson, Anthropology
Adlin.Sila@anu.edu.au  Being Muslim in Bima (West Nusa Tenggara) Eastern Indonesia: Practices, politics and cultural diversity
Sos, FaribDr Philip Taylor, Anthropology
Farib.Sos@anu.edu.au  Ethnic Chinese in Cambodia
Taufik, YaniProf Kathryn Robinson, Anthropology
Yani.Taufik@anu.edu.au  Livelihood sustainability: A case study in Routa sub district, Konawe regency, Southeast Sulawesi, Indonesia (Minning project area of Rio Tinto)
Thai Huynh Phuong, LanDr Philip Taylor, Anthropology
Lan.Thai@anu.edu.au  Negotiating In Interethnic Marriage: A Case Study of Khmer and Kinh Couples in Vietnam

Updated:  20 February 2015/Responsible Officer:  Director, Culture, History & Language /Page Contact:  CHL webmaster