THIS IS THE ARCHIVE VERSION OF THIS SITE
Skip navigation
The Australian National University

Research Associates

Name & emailSponsor & area of research
Alexander, Jennifer Prof Kathryn Robinson
jennifer.alexander@anu.edu.au  Applied anthropology and economic development, comparative trading practices, and natural and human resource management throughout Southeast Asia.
Ambrose, Wal Prof Susan O'Connor
wal.ambrose@anu.edu.au  The analysis of 2-3000 year-old Oceanic ceramic ornamentation for deriving and relating the development of related technologies within a range of culturally valuable artefacts. The use of laboratory replication and macroscopic examination for revealing ceramic ornamentation techniques.
Aplin, KennethProf Susan O'Connor
aplin.ken@gmail.com  
Baiying, BorjiginProf Li Narangoa
elderhorse@hotmail.com  
Bexley, AngieProf Kathryn Robinson
angie.bexley@anu.edu.au  
Brewer, CarolynProf Margaret Jolly
carolyn.brewer@anu.edu.au  
Bulbeck, DavidProf Simon Haberle
david.bulbeck@anu.edu.au  
Burton, JohnDr Matt Prebble
john.burton@anu.edu.au  
Dragojlovic, AnaDr Alan Rumsey
ana.dragojlovic@anu.edu.au  Critical migration and diaspora studies, gender and sexuality studies, postcolonial and critical race studies, transnational aesthetics, and the social production of historical memory, particularly between Asia and Europe.
Dutta, ShibuDr Barbara Nelson
dutta@grapevine.com.au  
Ellison, MarkProf Nick Evans
m.ellison@anu.edu.au  Laureate Project: The Wellsprings of Linguistic Diversity
Francois, AlexandreProf Nick Evans
alexandre.francois@anu.edu.au  Phonological systems and sound change; typology of polysemy and lexical semantics; pragmatics of face-to-face conversation; historical linguistics; language geography and areal phenomena; verbal art, folkloristics, ethnomusicology.
Funston, JohnProf Robert Cribb
john.funston@anu.edu.au  
Gerde, MurryProf Nick Evans
murray.garde@anu.edu.au  Laureate Project: The Wellsprings of Linguistic Diversity
Greenbaum, Jamie Dr Tana Li
jamie.greenbaum@anu.edu.au  China.
Higuchi , Wakako Dr Chris Ballard
wakako.higuchi@anu.edu.au  The Japanese military's pre-war and wartime policies with special emphasis on civil administration through the South Seas Bureau and by the Japanese Navy to elucidate the whole picture of total war in the Central Pacific Islands: Micronesia, Indonesia and New Guinea.
Ileto, ReyProf Ken George
rcileto46@gmail.com  
Itani-Adams, Yuki (Jun)Prof Li Narangoa
yuki.itani-adams@anu.edu.au  
Jeffcott, ColinDr McComas Taylor
Colin.Jeffcott@anu.edu.au   The social and economic history of China (especially, during the Song Dynasty period), in Neo-Confucian philosophical history, and, in the comparative social history of Japan and China.
Johnson , Wally Dr Chris Ballard
wallyjohnson@grapevine.com.au   PNG/Pacific
Johnston , Ewan Dr Paul D'Arcy
ewan.johnston@anu.edu.au  Pacific
Johnston , RayProf Nick Evans
tamaleluk@gmail.com  
Kalyan , Siva Prof Nick Evans
sivakalyan.princeton@gmail.com  Cognitive Grammar, Historical Linguistics, Psycholinguistics, Articulatory Phonetics.
Kamminga, Johan Dr Simon Haberle
nhc@grapevine.com.au  
Kennedy , Jean Isabel Prof Susan O'Connor
jean.kennedy@anu.edu.au  Archaeology & Natural History.
Kinoshita, YukoDr Shunichi Ishihara
yuko.kinoshita@canberra.edu.au  
Kobayashi, YasukoProf Tessa Morris-Suzuki
yasuko.h.kobayashi@gmail.com  
Langley, Michelle
Lindsay, JenniferAriel Heryanto
Jennifer.Lindsay@anu.edu.au   
Macphail , Mike Dr Simon Haberle
mike.macphail@anu.edu.au  
Martin , Brian Prof John Makeham
bgmartin66@hotmail.com  
Mcgowan, BarryDr Tana Li
barry@myone.com.au  
Miller, GeorgeProf Robert Cribb
george.miller@anu.edu.au  Southeast Asia
Monfries, JohnProf Robert Cribb
john.monfries@anu.edu.au  Indonesia
Niles, Don Dr Alan Rumsey
dniles.ipngs@gmail.com  
Osmond, MeredithProf Nick Evans
meredith.osmond@anu.edu.au  Pacific & Reconstructing Proto Oceanic
Petrov, LeonidProf Tessa Morris-Suzuki
leonid.petrov@anu.edu.au   Korea
Ponsonnet, MaiaProf Nick Evans
Maia.Ponsonnet@anu.edu.au  The language of emotions in Dalabon (Northern Australia)
Price, SusannaProf Kathryn Robinson
susanna.price@anu.edu.au   Korea
Priestley, CarolProf Nick Evans
carol.priestley@anu.edu.au  Topics in the grammar and semantics of Koromu, PNG.
Proske, UlrikeDr Simon Haberle
uproske@uni-bremen.de, ulrike.proske@anu.edu.au  Geological and environmental history of coastal ecosystems and adjacent wetlands.
Quinn, PeterMary Kilcline Cody
ptquinn@grapevine.net.au  Cambodia: Human Security and development; post conflict State-building; Governance and decentralisation; History and politics.
Rao, AnanthDr McComas Taylor
Ananth.Rao@anu.edu.au   
Rose, PhilDr Shunichi Ishihara
philjohn.rose@gmail.com  
Schokkin, Gerda (Denike)Prof Nick Evans
dineke.schokkin@anu.edu.au  Laureate Project: The Wellsprings of Linguistic Diversity
Scott, AmandaShun Ikeda
mandy.scott@anu.edu.au  Language policy and language planning, Community/local language maintenance, Language learning in primary schools, Literacy and academic writing.
Shepherd, ChristopherDr Andrew McWilliam
chris.shepherd@anu.edu.au  The anthropology of development; social studies of science and technology; postcolonial studies; Latin American studies; Asian studies.
Standish, WilliamDr Chris Ballard
bill.standish@apex.net.au  PNG/Pacific.
Tamura, KeikoProf Tessa Morris-Suzuki
keiko.tamura@anu.edu.au  Australia-Japan relationship; Japan in Australian moving images; women and migration; expatriates in Japan; war and memory.
Tanji, MiyumeProf Tessa Morris-Suzuki
m.tanji@curtin.edu.au  Community Development and the US Military Presence in Okinawa and Guam.
Terrell , Jennifer Anne Dr Chris Ballard
jenny.terrell@anu.edu.au  Journal of Pacific History.
Welch, IanProf Robert Cribb
ian.welch@anu.edu.au,   Christian Missions to the Chinese in Australia; the work of the Church Missionary Society and the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society in Fukien Province, China; the Anglican Church in China (Sheng Kung Hui); Australian Missionaries in China; Australian missionary history.
Winter, ChristineProf Tessa Morris-Suzuki
christine.winter@anu.edu.au, c.winter1@uq.edu.au  Pacific.
de Crespigny, RafeProf John Minford
Rafe.deCrespigny@bigpond.com  Chinese history, geography and literature of the Han period and of the 19th and 20th centuries.

Updated:  20 February 2015/Responsible Officer:  Director, Culture, History & Language /Page Contact:  CHL webmaster